How to go from breadboard to schematic to pcb?

Started by Peasey23, September 21, 2018, 02:36:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peasey23

Simple question, likely complex answer BUT;

If I were to make a circuit on a breadboard and I wanted to get that printed to pcb, how would I go about that?

I'm new to this side of things as I've mainly dealt with modding and building pedal kits thus far, but it'd be really helpful to me and I'm certain mainy, many others if someone could perhaps break this down into an understandable sequence here.

My limited knowledge would lead me to think that, simplistically, it would be;

Breadboard a circuit
Draw that up as a schematic when complete
Have it printed/etch it
Build it!

It would be AWESOME to fill in the blanks of HOW to get it from start to end. Apologies if this is elsewhere, but I've not yet found anything specifically that helps shed light on this darkened room in my head on this one.

R.G.

It is a common problem, and it's good to see you thinking through it logically.

I would say that the first two items are reversed, and are done several times, repeatedly. For me, I think of the function I want, then in my head go over several ways to do it. Then I pick a method, and draw a schematic, however incomplete it is.

From the schematic, I can see that the circuit might need more or different parts, or another approach entirely. When I have a clear idea of what I would like to do, I will start either simulating the circuit or working with it on a breadboard and refining the ideas.

For me, simply starting on a breadboard is too open ended, and too error prone. I need the mental discipline of thinking through (1) idea (2) block diagrams/ functions (3) schematic and repeat through 2 and 3 until I'm happy with the schematic. Then I do (4) breadboard and prove out the ideas, and only then do I lay out the circuits for PCB or other prototyping boards and proceed to a final design.