BBD modulation & large caps in power filters

Started by POTL, February 21, 2018, 07:36:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

POTL

Hello
I studied the modulation scheme and noticed that, in contrast to the delay / distortion / compression, large capacitors are installed in the modulation
for an example I will give a BOSS CE-2

we have the following meanings
C18 & C20 - 47uf
C30 - 220uf
is there any reason to set these values ​​or can I set standard (and more compact) 10uf and 100uf respectively?
in flangers, I often see the 470uf value of the capacitor in the power filter?
Is there a reason to set such a huge value or will 100uf work the same way?

R.G.

Quote from: POTL on February 21, 2018, 07:36:31 PM
is there any reason to set these values ​​or can I set standard (and more compact) 10uf and 100uf respectively?
in flangers, I often see the 470uf value of the capacitor in the power filter?
Is there a reason to set such a huge value or will 100uf work the same way?
There is always a reason for a large-company design engineer to put a certain value of cap in a design. Large company engineers, especially Japanese engineers, are trained very well, and will have a good grasp of the electronic theory behind what value of capacitance is "enough" and will also apply to that a good grasp of what is affordable and what is manufacturable. This is distinctly not how amateur pedal makers and just-appeared-recently commercial pedals are designed. I have dealt with Japanese engineers from large companies, and they have earned my respect. This is by the way not always true of American engineers.