9v drops to 6v when I plug in my pedal - is it faulty?

Started by jamierichards1234, April 04, 2018, 01:12:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jamierichards1234

Hi,

Total beginner here so sorry if this is a stupid question..

I've built a pedal with 2 x deprofundis delay circuits (pt2399) in it and it seems to work, but when I plug it in my 9v supply drops to approximately 6v. Is this normal behaviour for a voltage to drop like this or is there likely to be an error somewhere in my build?

It doesn't seem to make any difference if I run it from the 'high current' output of my Voodoo lab pedal power or from a normal one.

I was getting ambitious and hoping to put another circuit in the same box but I guess this might not be possible!   :icon_cry:

Thanks for the help,
Jamie

vigilante397

A wise man once told me "The only stupid question is one you already know the answer to." You don't know the answer, therefore not a stupid question :)

Usually a drop in voltage from your supply means that the circuit is trying to pull more current than your supply can provide. PT2399-powered delays will pull more current than say a fuzz face, but it still shouldn't be anywhere near enough to make the voltage sag on a wall-wart, let alone a Voodoo Lab pedal power. It would therefore be safe to assume something is wrong. A short to ground will pull a hell of a lot more current than a delay will, so that would be something to look for. Look for anything connecting to something it shouldn't be.

The strangest part of this situation is, of course, the fact that the circuit still works. :icon_confused: Do you know how to measure current? I would be interested to know how much the pedal is trying to pull. It wouldn't point to a specific culprit, but if your 40-50mA pedal is trying to pull more than the 250mA available from your high-current output then there is cause for concern. ;D
  • SUPPORTER