Tube distrotion stompbox with expression pedal?

Started by TheHairesy, February 26, 2018, 09:40:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheHairesy

Hey guys, I'm new here and this is my first post.

I'm an audio engineering student at SAE and I have to finish my final project in a few months. For my project I came up with an idea for a distortion pedal with an expression pedal built in so you could swell from a clean tone to a distorted tone. Now I have no experience whatsoever in electronics except for a pedal building workshop I joined, so what I'm planning is maybe a bit too ambitious, but nevertheless I want to try. (we had some lessons covering tubes and other electronics but never any practical lessons on it. I know how to solder anyway.)

I want to use 2 12ax7's if possible, there's a store pretty close to my house that sells them and pretty much any other kind of electronic components. Now I read a few threads on this site saying that most pedal using tubes don't have them running on the correct voltage, so I would like to know how to actually get 200-300 volts running through the pedal, or at least get the high gain sound I'm looking for.

I've never really seen a distortion with an expression pedal built in so for that I would have to make my own schematic and find a way to combine it with another if that's even a possibility.

So I wanted to ask you people some advice and maybe some good schematics to base my design off of. If it helps, the controlls I want to build in to this thing are: on/true bypass, 3 band EQ, gain and the expression pedal for the dry/wet controll.

I hope I gave enough information to get some advice. I hope to hear something soon!

peace!

rankot

• SUPPORTER
60 pedals and counting!

TheHairesy

Thanks! However the link to the dropbox file 404'd so I can't get the building instructions.

GibsonGM