High- and Low-Pass Filter in Feedback Loop (GGG-Schematic Problems)

Started by pokus, April 18, 2018, 07:48:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pokus

Hey, I'm quite new in the pedal universe. I've already built a few clones but now I want to modify and create some schematics myself.
I found this article called "design your own distortion" on generalguitargadgets.com. Mostly everything written there made sense to me. But when it comes to the end, there is a circuit of a simple distortion/overdrive pedal. I tried to breadbord it and it also worked, but it had a very less distorted sound and a big lack of bass.

So i just tried some different values, making R5 390 Ohm solved the distortion problem. As C4 I put in some largely higher values an it got more bass, but it still could have some more. I also put the Big Muff tone stack instead of R6 and C6 and it just worked but could not solve the tone problem.

And now we are slowly getting to me question. The text in the article says that R5 and C4 form a low pass filter and the pot R4 and C3 form a high pass filter. So I decided to figure out the corner frequencies of that design and then it got confusing.
The corner frequency of the low pass filter R5 and C4 was 1592.4 HZ and the CF of high pass with R4 turned all the way up to 100k was 33.8 kHZ.

So I thought when it had been the other way around HP is 1592.4 HZ and LP is 33.8 kHZ it would match exactly with what I can hear. Now my question(s): Is the text right saying R5 and C4 form HP and R4 and C3 form LP? And can the values in the original schematic be right for a common distortion pedal? Or did I any mistakes by trying to understand the schematics?
Here's the complete article: http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/how-to-build-it/technical-help/articles/design-distortion/
Thanks for reading and ensuing answers!

GibsonGM

Hi Pokus, welcome!  Good work on going thru what's happening there.