Wampler Black '65 clone build. Help!

Started by Grlzzly, May 28, 2018, 12:28:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grlzzly

Hi folks,

I'd really like to build a clone of the wampler black 65.  I have the schematic and some very basic soldering experience (wiring my SG to 50's wiring w/ independent volumes).  I've never worked with PCB's before and this seems like a whole new daunting world to me.  What difficulty level would you say this project is?  Is it doable for a beginner?

I have some idea how the schematic works; isolate the channels on the vector board, solder the components where they should be, link the appropriate contacts. Some things are still opaque to me.  What is the Q1-4 (J201) and where do they connect?  Are they just regions on the board?  What is a J201?  I also don't see where the boost switch connects.  Also nothing about where the indicator light goes. 

Thanks!

thermionix

J201s are JFET transistors.  Through-hole JFETs are getting a little scarce these days.  Most circuits that use them require you to select transistors with certain operating characteristics, or at least include trimmers in the circuit to adjust the bias.  Not to be too discouraging, but this might not be an ideal first pedal build.  The indicator LED is optional, and is usually wired in at the footswitch.  There are various ways to do it.

Elijah-Baley

Here's the schematic:

Remember, the point of view of the layout is from the top, under you can see the soldering side.

I'd say that, looking at the number of the parts, this pedal is a medium difficulty, but you could have an extra difficulty because the FET.
The Fet transistors have a variable element, and to adjust the bias you have to act on all those 5.6k resistors, theorically them should be fine, but you could use at least some socket and try some close value. Those resistors will change the amount of gain of the pedal.