BMP clipping stage frequencies

Started by Scribe, June 06, 2018, 10:41:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scribe

Hi all,
My name is Matt, and I'm new to the DIYstompbox community. I've been prowling the forums for a while, but I figured it was about time to make myself known!

Forgive me if this question has been asked before, but I had a question regarding the clipping section of the Big Muff Pi circuit. I've attached a schematic
of the Civil War BMP  and NYC BMP clipping stages to the bottom of this post for reference.

I'm working on using a similar clipping stage for a bass distortion pedal. The goal is to have the circuit clip high frequencies more aggressively, but allow low frequencies to pass with less clipping in order to retain definition. I want to ensure that my logic in tinkering with this system is sound.

My main question is: how does one calculate the cutoff frequency at which the clipping cap allows frequencies to be clipped by the clipping diodes?

Below is my (probably flawed) logic:

My thinking is this:
I assumed (please correct me if I'm wrong!) that an RC filter is created via the feedback capacitor (470pF) and feedback resistor (470K). In this case, it creates a feedback path that essentially functions as a low pass filter, rolling of frequencies above ~720 Hz.

Thus, I guessed that the clipping capacitor (0.047uF) operated on a similar principle, creating an RC filter system along with the feedback resistor (470K). However, the result is that frequencies ABOVE the filter cutoff would be affected by the clipping diodes. In the Civil War BMP example, this would mean that frequencies above 7.2 Hz would clip. Decreasing the cap thus increases the low frequencies unaffected by the clipping diodes.

The issue with my assumption is this: