2 Pole 3 Position Rotary for Jext Telez White Pedal

Started by natron_mn, June 12, 2018, 01:31:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

natron_mn

I'm going to be working on the Jext Telez White Pedal using Effects Layouts' layout.

It calls for a DPDT On-On-On switch to switch between three capacitors. I'd like to make the pedal close to the original, which used a rotary switch, so I picked up a 2 pole 3 position rotary switch. I've never used a rotary in a build before, so I'm wondering how this corresponds to a DPDT on-on-on switch. Or did I get the wrong rotary?!

http://effectslayouts.blogspot.com/2018/03/jext-telez-white-pedal.html

mth5044

Do you have the schematic? It is difficult to tell how it's supposed to be wired from that layout.

If all you're doing is switching between 3 caps, you shouldn't have a problem with your rotary. Do you have a link to the one you bought?

mth5044

I can't seem to find the data sheet for that exact model to explain how the mugs connect, but most rotary switches like that are the same. IF it is actually a 2 pole 3 position rotary, the lush should look like the schematic drawing in this link:

http://hackaweek.com/hacks/?attachment_id=925

You'll notice two common lugs in the center, then each common lug has its own set of three throws or positions. Rotary switches come in variations of these, like 2 pole 6 throw, 4pol 3 throw, but the layout is usually the same where you have one common and it's dedicated throws. So flip yours over, find the one common lug and it's three associates throws. The other set you'll leave alone. Doesn't matter which side you use!