filters in modulation

Started by POTL, July 04, 2018, 10:25:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

POTL

Hello.
At the moment I'm studying how modulation works and was interested in some nuances in MXR schemes

1) The first thing that seems to me strange is the 2 second-order filters in the mxr flanger scheme (upper picture) U1 - half is switched on nonstardardly, 2 additional 30K resistors (R5 & R13) are used for normal operation, why is not the standard filter used?

2) MXR Chorus (bottom image) uses 2 halves of U1 as input buffer and active filter.
I did a simulation and realized that you can get a similar result using only 1 half of an operational amplifier, as is done in the MXR Flanger scheme, just change several ratings to get a similar filter.
Is there any advantage in the form of a separate filter and input buffer against the classic non-inverting amplifier in the MXR flanger circuit, both have high input impedance and the same cutoff frequency, what reason to use more components?

noisette

@1 R5 is standart, look up multiple feedback filters, R13 is because the archaic opamp used needs it, if you´re using modern opamps just connect neg.pin to gnd...
@2 the buffer is needed for the dry path?
"Those who believe in telekinetics, raise my hand."
― Kurt Vonnegut

ElectricDruid

Quote from: POTL on July 04, 2018, 10:25:41 AM
1) The first thing that seems to me strange is the 2 second-order filters in the mxr flanger scheme (upper picture) U1 - half is switched on nonstardardly, 2 additional 30K resistors (R5 & R13) are used for normal operation, why is not the standard filter used?