Chandler Tube Driver Power Supply!?

Started by fattcamp, July 28, 2018, 12:51:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fattcamp

Hey folks. Hopefully this isn't too out of left field. There is a similar post to this one on this very forum, so here goes.

I have a dead Chandler Late 80's Tube Driver (4-knob) and I need to replace the power supply. On the other DIYstompboxes thread, someone mentioned that Chandler originally suggested the Condor A-24V0-0A4-U12. They don't make those anymore unfortunately. I need to replace the psu and these are the specs: 120v / 60hz / 15w input, 24vac@6va output. I'm trying to do this on the cheap and I'm in Canada. Searching ebay/amazon/digikey is close but no cigar or rediculously expensive. Do I have to follow these exact specs or if I'm close with the specs, do you think it would be ok? In other words.. a 20-watt for example or a higher VA on the output. I'm not good with power but I'm good with a soldering iron. Any help would be much appreciated. Cheers!

-Fattcamp

PRR

In general, small AC-output supplies are going out of style (and stock) because of new efficiency regulations.

Yes, you can use more VA/power, don't go overboard.

If you are making Line Connections, please know what you are doing! A pre-made and tested wall-wart is safer than most home-brew.
  • SUPPORTER

Mark Hammer

The schematics I have show a 12.6VAC transformer, that gets divvied up into +/-12V via diodes.  In one instance full-wave rectification, and in other drawings, half-wave.

Steve Daniels sent me an Eleca Tube Distortion, that is a clone of the BK Butler Tube Driver, that is very close, if not identical to, the Chandler unit.  The wallwart is a very basic 12VAC/1A unit.

anotherjim

I don't get it!
By "power supply", do you mean the transformer? Or does it have an external power brick?
Most examples I can find have an internal transformer which does appear to be only 6VA size. A 6VA 12-0-12v or 24v secondary transformer should be easy to buy.