question on removing the envelope detector on an envelope filter

Started by Marcos - Munky, July 30, 2018, 11:35:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marcos - Munky

I built a DOD FX25 a few days ago, and it's a fun effect to play with. What I liked most of it it's the filter sweep. Just by curiosity, how could be the envelope part removed and the filter be controlled as a regular wah?

Schematic for reference:

I believe the envelope part is the circuit at the lower part of the schematic. Would a pot from r12 and r13 to ground do the job? If so, any guesses on the pot value?

Josh?

Before I Start:

DO NOT TRUST ME BECAUSE I'M NEW TO BUILDING PEDALS

Now that that's out of the way, the bottom section looks a lot like the part of the DOD 440 (another envelope filter) which provides a control voltage for its LED to do things to an LDR.  Here, however, it looks like the control voltage is going straight to those op amp-looking things.  To make a cv, you Might be able to use a pot as a voltage divider to determine how much voltage the op amp-looking things get. It would probably look like this, but I have no idea of what the values should be, or even if I'm on the right track:

Hopefully someone smarter than me can help you out, it sounds like a really fun project!

Keppy

Josh's suggestion would work, but the pot would probably get scratchy due to a lack of smoothing. Since there's already a smoothing capacitor in the circuit, we might as well use it.

The key here is that the bias inputs of the LM13600 are current inputs, and the voltage at those inputs is tied at 2 diode drops above ground (about 1.2v). Since the 9v supply is a fixed voltage, and those inputs are a fixed voltage, there is a 1M/5k voltage divider created by R9 and R12/13 (these are kinda-sorta in parallel, since they connect to the same voltage).