Anybody feel like helping me troubleshoot an op amp big muff build?

Started by doof, August 27, 2018, 09:55:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

doof

Hi everyone, I don't post here much, but i've been building pedals for a few years now, probably have about 40 or so under my belt, but I've had just a heck of a time with op amp big muffs.  i've tried two on Aion Electronics PCBs that failed miserably, one on vero that worked just fine, and now i'm using a pedalpcb board to build another one.  Build docs and schematic available here as a pdf: https://www.pedalpcb.com/docs/DreamFuzz.pdf

So the pedal basically works, but it's just a really thin, weak sounding fuzz or distortion, nothing at all like the real thing.

I've got an EHX op amp muff reissue, and I used an audio probe to trace the audio path on both pedals side by side, and they each sound identical all the way up to pin 2 of the 2nd IC. When i touch the audio probe to pin 6 of the reissue's ua741cp, it basically sounds like the opamp muff should. When I touch it to the clone's LM071 pin 6, it sounds very quiet and weak. I thought, that's good, I found the problem. I tried a different LM071, and same thing. I thought maybe I got some bad ICs from Tayda. I ordered some UA741CP ICs from Digikey, they showed up today, and... same crappy sound.

I tested each and every component before soldering to make sure they measured ok. I have reflowed all solder joints twice now. I'm using sockets for the ICs. Voltages are as follows:

4558:
1: 4.5v
2: 4.4v
3: 4.6v
4: 0.0v
5: 4.5v
6: 4.5v
7: 4.5v
8: 8.9v

UA741CP:
1: 0.0v (0.0v with IC removed)
2: 4.8v (starts around 4v then decreases steadily with IC removed)
3: 4.6v (4.6v with IC removed)
4: 0.0v (0.0v with IC removed)
5: 0.0v (0.0v with IC removed)
6: 4.8v (starts around 4v then decreases steadily with IC removed)
7: 8.9v (8.9v with IC removed)
8: 0.0v (0.0v with IC removed)

I've replaced the 150pf C7 cap just in case, as well as the 4.7uf C6 cap.