No sound on a DIY Bazz Fuzz (1st project)

Started by FredG, September 19, 2018, 03:47:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

FredG

Hello everybody,

I'm new to this hobby and after browsing the net on DIY pedals, it's quite clear that a fuzz pedal is the place to start.
So I tried to build this one :
https://tonereport.com/blogs/do-it-yourself/your-first-diy-pedal-project-were-building-a-bazz-fuss

The dry signal is ok, and when I hit the footswitch the LED lights on, but there is absolutely no sound coming out.

Here is the components I used :
- Diode BAT41
- Resistor 10KOhm 1/4W
- Transistor BC517 (npn)
- Capacitors 470nF and 100nF

I have already remake a second time the circuit board with new components, just in case one of them was the issue, but the problem is still the same.
I noticed a difference in the wiring of the pot between the schematic and the pictures in the notice. I tried both options for the same result : no sound when it's on.
Maybe the resistor and/or the capacitors are the problem as they don't look the same at all as the ones in the notice ???

Here are pictures of the project, do you see anything I did wrong ?

Please note that I'm very new to this and know nothing in electronic (and that english is not my native language ;D).

Thank you very much in advance for your help.

Slowpoke101

Welcome to the forum.

From a quick look at your pictures I can see that you have the transistor in backwards. The BC517 has different pinouts from the specified transistor. Take it out and rotate it so the flat face of the transistor faces the BAT41 diode.
  • SUPPORTER

FredG

Thank you for this answer Slowpoke101.  :)
I tried with the transistor facing the BAT41, but there is still no sound. But when I turn the pot to the maximum there is now a very light humming.