Help with Fuzz Face, Newbie (Photos)

Started by Plork, September 26, 2018, 09:35:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Plork

I am breadboarding an NPN Silicon fuzzface, using the breadboard kit sold form Small Bear. This is my first circuit build, though I do have some experience soldering. Other than that I am a novice. The transistors are 2n222a, and I've checked the pinout a bunch of times, so I am fairly confident they are wired correctly in the circuit.

To the best of my knowledge the circuit board is wired up correctly, I've gone over it a dozen times, but it does not function. You can hear noises when the pots are turned, and unplugging from either jack creates noise. I discovered unplugging the jacks that guitar signal actually passes through when partially unplugged and the tip of the cable is touching the sleeve of the jack -but there is no fuzz effect. I know I need to use my multimeter (I have an analog one, I'll post a picture) to test different parts of the circuit, but I'm  uncertain about what setting to use and what math I need to do...

Unless I fried something, I think the problem may have to do with the way the pots and/or jacks are wired. Do both pots share a jumper on their first lug, that then travels from the volume pot to ground? Or is it fine to just wire them individually to ground? I have much to learn.

Breadboard:

[url=https://flic.kr/p/2a5xwnX]

Meter:
[url=https://flic.kr/p/2a5xwSp]

Thanks for your help.

smallbearelec

I don't see any mistakes in the board connections. The pots look to be wired OK. Are you Sure that you have correctly ID'd tip and sleeve of the jacks? Orient the jacks the same way that they appear in the How-To:

http://diy.smallbearelec.com/HowTos/BreadboardSiFF/BreadboardSiFF.htm

with the Chamfer (flatted edge) facing you.  Ensure that tip and sleeve go where they are supposed to. It's in the nature of these builds that one small thing wrong means that nothing works; we'll find it and get you going.

Plork