Phono Preamp Power Supply Question

Started by suryabeep, December 27, 2018, 02:55:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

suryabeep

Hi everyone,

I want to build a phono preamp, specifically this one  - http://sound.whsites.net/project06.htm - but I don't want to use transformers and rectifiers. Will a max1044 +-18V circuit provide enough current for this preamp?
And a related question - how does one figure out the current consumption of a circuit without actually building it first? (I am a noob at circuit analysis)

My apologies if I shouldn't be posting phono stuff in this stompbox forum :P
Still in the process of learning, so bear with me if I ask dumb questions :P

vigilante397

Quote from: suryabeep on December 27, 2018, 02:55:11 PM
Will a max1044 +-18V circuit provide enough current for this preamp?

Probably.

And a related question - how does one figure out the current consumption of a circuit without actually building it first?

I usually read the datasheet and find the maximum current draw, which would give a worst-case scenario, and plan around that. I said probably before because under no load (best-case scenario) NE5532 current draw is listed as 8-16mA, and under short circuit (worst-case scenario) current draw is typically 38mA. The MAX1044 can give a maximum output of around 20mA, which is between your best-case and worst-case scenario.

It's not as important in hobby stuff, but for my day job when I'm designing a power supply my boss tells me to plan for double the worst case scenario. So the NE5532 worst case is typically 38mA, but the WORST-WORST-CASE would be 60mA, so if I design for less than 120mA I'm told to go back to the drawing board and find a better solution.

It's difficult to know exactly the current draw of a circuit without building it and testing it, but SPICE simulation toolslike LTSpice can be useful in giving a good estimate.

Hope this helps ;D
  • SUPPORTER