Time constants for bias shift effects due to grid conduction

Started by phasetrans, February 17, 2019, 12:10:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

phasetrans

All, me again. I'm the guy that did the DC coupled optocoupler based clipper thingy a bit ago.

I'm working on my second distortion related solid state thing (also DC coupled for now). But as I look at Merlin's book, it strikes me that the bias shifting that happens due to the combination of DC blocking cap after a GCA, and the variable input impedance of the subsequent tube entering grid conduction, is certainly part of the sound, and perceived compression.

I have plenty of experience with useful attack and decay times for compression AFTER an amp, but not within it. And the spice tube models I have don't include the change in grid input Z as it enters conduction.

Does anyone know what these time constants are, typically, and how dramatically they change (shorten) with input level as the follow on valve enters grid conduction?

Thanks!

• SUPPORTER

merlinb

You can model grid conduction well enough for this application by adding a diode plus a 1k to 2k resistor between grid and cathode of the tube (i.e. diode anode goes to the to grid, and the resistor is in series with the diode). The rest you can copy from popular amp circuits.  :icon_cool:

phasetrans

Quote from: merlinb on February 17, 2019, 12:54:35 PM
You can model grid conduction well enough for this application by adding a diode plus a 1k to 2k resistor between grid and cathode of the tube (i.e. diode anode goes to the to grid, and the resistor is in series with the diode). The rest you can copy from popular amp circuits.  :icon_cool:

I should clarify that I'm not trying to work with tubes at the moment, only hoping that the tube models would characterize the input Z behavior.

So just assume the input Z collapses to a couple kilo ohms, and the diode knee behavior is similar to the cathode electron cloud behavior? Interesting.