Aion Eclipse, DC jack wired in wrong polarity -- help!

Started by slowpogo, June 13, 2019, 02:18:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

slowpogo

I built an Eclipse (15V configuration), plugged it in and turned it on to test voltage and the LED didn't light up.  Pumped the stomp switch a few more times and realized, I'd wired the DC jack center positive instead of center negative.  I may have smelt a slight whiff of burning parts.

I rewired the jack correctly, and this time the LED turned on, but I get no sound.  All parts are correctly installed.  What do you think happened?  Is it just a blown diode probably, or do I need to replace all the ICs?  Any help diagnosing is greatly appreciated!

*This is the third Aion pedal I've built and the first two worked perfectly right away.  I've also built headphone amps, DACs, a guitar amp, lots of mods, etc.  So I'm a fairly experienced builder but I know very little about circuits.

bluebunny

Welcome to the forum!

You could be lucky and the sacrificial zener has done its job.  Or you could have zorched your ICs.  You need to take some voltages to find out.  Check out the instructions in the sticky "Debugging" thread - it really works.  Then report back and we'll help you get it sorted.
  • SUPPORTER
Ohm's Law - much like Coles Law, but with less cabbage...

GibsonGM

Quote from: bluebunny on June 13, 2019, 02:38:00 AM
Welcome to the forum!

You could be lucky and the sacrificial zener has done its job.  Or you could have zorched your ICs.  You need to take some voltages to find out.  Check out the instructions in the sticky "Debugging" thread - it really works.  Then report back and we'll help you get it sorted.

Yup.  Read the thread, and see if you can post the voltages.  If you can provide a link to the schematic, that would be immensely helpful, too!

Take it one step at a time.  Welcome to the forum!
  • SUPPORTER