Help With Op-Amps

Started by TSMartin, June 17, 2019, 11:31:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TSMartin

I am still fairly new to all of this, so bear with me.

Whenever I use an op-amp for anything, I lose a lot of sustain, and my notes fade out quickly, resulting in a gross, distorted, "plucky" sound. I've used TL082, TL074CN, OPA2134PA, RC4558P, LM833N. They all seem to give me the same issues. I connect them to 4.5V Vcc+. In general, I've been using them to boost a signal before an overdrive clipping section, or after a clipping section, like you would see in an OCD style overdrive.

I'm hoping there is a fairly common cause to this that someone can help me with quickly. If it could be a number of problems, a nudge in the right direction would be great. Thanks!

EDIT: Here's one of the schematics I was trying to follow: https://www.google.com/search?q=ocd+schematic&rlz=1C5CHFA_enUS751US751&tbm=isch&source=iu&ictx=1&fir=si_6qbR0kHNtgM%253A%252COUlgUiDhTjY2zM%252C_&vet=1&usg=AI4_-kTKcIxloVF_IxLpAyxB4FUOkHsoFw&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwikvsaUnfPiAhUF5awKHURJD4EQ9QEwAHoECAYQBA#imgrc=si_6qbR0kHNtgM:

antonis

Any schematic (diagram) of your builds should be helpful..
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

GibsonGM

Hi TS, Antonis is correct - a schematic of something you have built and which gives you trouble would help up pin-point what's wrong.   Generally, the error is a build error, or a problem with our design if we made it ourselves.  Happens to all of us!  :)

The symptoms you describe suggest that maybe some clarification on how opamps work with AC signals could be in order, but we'll know more after we can look at a schematic.

Welcome to the forum!  :)
  • SUPPORTER