How to get an LED to light when a signal is at 0.0mv?

Started by Kevin Mitchell, August 13, 2019, 12:10:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevin Mitchell

I'm looking for a circuit that will shine an LED only when a signal is at 0.0mv. I'm no electrical engineer and am trying to figure out what circuit configuration would be the most ideal for this application.

The objective is to use a wheatstone bridge to find matching resistors and have the measurements between two points trigger an LED if it's at 0.0mv
Here's the bridge in a simulator with all resistors at true value - giving 0mv between the two test points.

Original site of idea;
https://www.head-fi.org/threads/tutorial-how-to-match-resistors-up-to-0-01-using-a-cheap-dvm.295983/

Any guidance would be appreciated!
-KM
  • SUPPORTER
This hobby will be the deaf of me

GibsonGM

How about a comparator?  Interesting design question, I'm curious what the sharper minds will suggest!
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

anotherjim

I think it might be easier with balanced supplies and hang the bridge circuit in between.
Send the bridge test terminals to a differential amp. The output will go positive or negative according to the error.
Send the output to a window comparator. Arrange for the "go" LED to light when the diff amp output is in the comparator window.

Kevin Mitchell

Quote from: anotherjim on August 13, 2019, 04:29:46 PM
I think it might be easier with balanced supplies and hang the bridge circuit in between.
Send the bridge test terminals to a differential amp. The output will go positive or negative according to the error.
Send the output to a window comparator. Arrange for the "go" LED to light when the diff amp output is in the comparator window.