SOLVED: Lectric-FX Zirconia (Diamond Comp clone) no sound at all

Started by matopotato, March 26, 2022, 11:03:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

matopotato

A Zirconia build (https://lectric-fx.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/ZiRCONiACompressor_V.1.1.pdf) fails to have any effect. I did have some issues with changing D1 "ripple limiting" diode from one side of the PCB to the other and my soldering station decided to fail without telling. But I have tested it and it seems to be OK, and its place in the circuit is fine. But it made me check the power section and all is either 9.6V, 4.71V or 0V in the expected places. Except C1 which has 0V and 0.57V. I have some basic knowledge of physics, and to me all components connected to the VA - R1 "line" should have the same potential with power on, but not C1. Polarity is according with how the cap is marked, and I think I would have noticed a shorter leg on plus if it was a dud...
This spills over somehow to pin8 on IC2 (OP275). So instead on pin4 and 8 having 0 and 9.6V, pin8 shows 0.57V. However IC1 (LM358) has pin4 and 8 as wanted, 0V and 9,6V. Again, I cant see how that is possible, but those are the readings I get.

I traced with an audio probe and it checks out until pin5 on IC2.2 (OP275) although a bit faint. Pins 6 and 7 are quiet.
I measured the OP275 with no audio, just power and I get about 1.07V on each pin except pin4 (0V) and pin8 (0.57V) as mentioned above.
I also swapped the ICs, and the only change was the the audio signal on pin5 on IC2.2 (now temporarily the LM358) got louder and a bit more clear. I think that has more to do whit the characteristics of the ICs and didn't think this would be part of the problem.
"Should have breadboarded it first"

matopotato

matopotato