Strange issue stacking common source JFET amplifiers on breadboard

Started by Twhjelmgren28, August 20, 2019, 11:52:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Twhjelmgren28

Hey all,

I'm still fairly new to DIY pedals although I do have a few builds under my belt now.  I have been attempting to stack common source JFET amplifiers on the breadboard just to see how they interact and overdrive.  I was using j201s.  The first JFET was super easy to bias but I couldn't for the life of me get the second JFET amplifier in series to bias properly. After spending a couple of hours trying different trim pots and fixed resistors to bias I discovered something weird... If I touched my signal out lead to the side of the coupling capacitor leading into the second amplifier, boom, id have an output signal and I could go back and get the second JFET amplifier biased. And wouldn't you know it, both transistors biased with the exact same resistance (i think that would be the correct terminology here).

So then I realized anytime I touched a component on the breadboard, the signal would completely cut out.  I'd have to touch the output signal lead back to the coupling capacitor / gate of the second JFET to get the signal back.

Does this seem normal? Am I dealing with a faulty transistor or does this have something to do with how the gate operates?  (At least I would assume it has to do with the gate of the second transistor as that is where the coupling cap leads into the second amplifier)... Follow up question, if this is normal, how do you work around it when stacking JFETs?

Appreciate any insight!   Feel like I should be able to figure out what's up but I need your expertise!
  • SUPPORTER
I'm a rookie:  Teach me your ways, wise sensei!

Fancy Lime

Hi Tommy,