Footswitch for Delay chip selection

Started by that fat bastard, October 05, 2019, 05:20:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

that fat bastard

Hi,

I am pretty new to this whole DIY pedal building. As my second project I wanted to have a bit of a challenge and just like every other green builder, I have bitten off more then I can chew so I will need to ask for some help.

I am building a Mega chorus and Vibrato kit from BYOC. In their marketing material they claimed that I could fit another chip for longer delays (replacing the MN3207 with a V3208).... but I actually want both if possible via a footswitch. Now I have some VERY basic knowledge but I can not figure out pinning and what it all means so I could use the help in figuring out A) Can the switching even be done? B) How many pins do I have to use via the switch and what pins can I connect in a parallel to the PCB? C) What pins, if possible to use?

I have made a bit of a guess as per the image but I could really use the advice of someone that actually knows what they are doing..... I have marked in blue as to what I think need to be wired via the switch but I would love to hear from someone that isn't guessing wildly.

Thanks a ton and have a wonderful day :)

Mark Hammer

1) I wouldn't recommend it.
2) What are you hoping to achieve with the additional chip?
3) The requisite daughter board for an additional BBD would require more than simply a second chip.

ElectricDruid

I'd say you can parallel up the power supply pins and the Egg bias voltage. The others are not such a good idea.

In theory, you could parallel up the clocks, but that increases clock input pin capacitance, which isn't great. It's possible that whatever is driving it will have enough oomph to overcome the extra, but then again it might not. Hence, not a great idea.

Paralleling up the two outputs is a no-no since we want to switch from one delay to the other, so they've got to be separate.