Output attenuator getting too hot

Started by Laker1980, October 06, 2019, 08:09:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Laker1980

Hi. I'm new to electronics - I thought I'd have a go at a simple attenuator build to get me started. I followed a build from guitar magazine - a 100w 8ohm Lpad with and input and output in a box.
I plugged the attenuator in and it does work, however it started to smoke. I've read similar posts online and I Know that attenuators do get hot but this isn't what I was expecting. My amp is a Laney VC50 - so a 50 watt output. The Lpad is rated to 100 watts so I'm a bit confused... I've read a few possible solutions, one being to add a few 100watt  8ohm resistors before the Lpad to reduce the load on it.
If I added 3 100watt resistors before the Lpad (as suggested), how will the resistance be affected? Does the resistance need to be 8ohms to coincide with the speaker? Or will adding 3 8ohm resistors affect the current flow?
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Ta

Rob Strand

QuoteI followed a build from guitar magazine - a 100w 8ohm Lpad with and input and output in a box.
I plugged the attenuator in and it does work, however it started to smoke. I've read similar posts online and I Know that attenuators do get hot but this isn't what I was expecting.
Unfortunately the ratings of those things aren't as clear as they should be.  Typically the 100W rating applies to the system power when the LPAD is used on a tweeter and fed from a high-pass crossover.

You can see from this graph the power a tweeter sees with a crossover is a lot less than the system power,
https://sound-au.com/tweeters.htm

It makes sense since the tweeter is only fed with a small part of the spectrum

QuoteIf I added 3 100watt resistors before the Lpad (as suggested), how will the resistance be affected? Does the resistance need to be 8ohms to coincide with the speaker?