Treating oscilations in Geofex Parametric EQ

Started by Dr Bliss, October 10, 2019, 10:26:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dr Bliss

Hello,
I'm studying the simple parametric EQ by Geofex (http://www.geofex.com/article_folders/eqs/paramet.htm) and am encountering oscillations at random times. As well a constant short oscillation at power off.

I know this has been discussed here before but after going through many threads I still can not find a clear lead as to how to treat this issue or to what is the source of it. Ive tried decoupling the supply and changing values of resistors and ended up with:

2x 0.01 capacitors rather then the suggested 0.022 and 0.01.
470 resistor changed to 330
2.7K are now 15K. This last change was the most beneficial in reducing the oscillations.
Opamps are TL072

Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Ariel

Rob Strand

Try adding two small caps like this,

- one from the clockwise pin of boost/cut pot (ie. pot pin 3) to opamp output
- one from the counter clockwise pin of boost/cut pot (ie. pot pin 1) to ground.

The cap value depends on the actual values of the input and output resistors used in the circuit.

See C23, C24

If you don't have many bands you can often get away with only one of those caps, perhaps C24.

Send:     . .- .-. - .... / - --- / --. --- .-. -
According to the water analogy of electricity, transistor leakage is caused by holes.

antonis

I know I don't help much but I never experienced some kind of oscillation issue in any of R.G.'s parametric EQs (3 to 5 bands) even with values of Frequency & Resonance pots and Feedback/Gain reisitors as low as 100k, 1k & 2k2 respectively..

IMHO, your oscillation issue should be "classified" as General Op-Amp Oscillation Prevent practice, despite the specific circuit nature..
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

Dr Bliss