Noob Fuzz 69 Questions

Started by DJPsychic, October 10, 2019, 01:15:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DJPsychic

Hello there,

First time on the forum!

I just completed my first PCB kit Fuzz 69 (NPN Germanium) build from GGG. It actually (sort of) works!

I'd like to make a couple changes to the design based on a youtuber's version. I tried gathering as much info as I could from the video and comment section, but not sure what he's talking about.

As stated, I am a total noob, with little to no experience. The first thing I ever soldered was this Fuzz 69 kit, so be nice  ;D

Here's the info:

"This build doesn't have the resistance in series with the fuzz cap but I did go with 15uf instead of 20uf..."

"The 8k2 is a trimmer"

"trimmer - bias 4.53 - 5"

Having trouble figuring out what the "15uf" component is. I'm guessing it's a cap, but all the "15uf" caps seem huge To me.

And what is the 8k2? I didn't seem to encounter that in this build.

I know these are all very obvious things to many of you, but Any insight would be super appreciated. Thank you!!

I'm really really excited to get deeper into making pedals, It's all I want to do now ha

GibsonGM

15uF = 15 microfarad cap   It's ok to play with that value, toss a 1uF there, 22uF, what have you to see what sounds good!  The values you listed are most common in that spot, tho.  That's a 'bypass cap', it allows AC to pass while blocking DC...simply put, it increases transistor gain.

8k2 is an 8.2K resistor.  European method of writing it, uses the unit where the " . " goes in the US.  Many fuzzes use an 8.2k from the collector of the transistor to 9V.   Yours may not - perhaps it's a 10k or something like that.   If you were to replace that resistor with a variable resistor (a 'trim pot'), you can dial in the amount of bias the transistor receives = tonal changes.   That is the "4.53 - 5"...voltage on the collector...