Purpose of opamp follower / buffer in power supply

Started by erikor, November 30, 2019, 11:56:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

erikor

Total noob here working on my first guitar pedal (basically the Box Of Hall reverb). For the power supply circuit, I have copied the circuit found here (my version is attached) which provides both regulated 5V supply and the split power supply required by the Accutronics BTDR-2 reverb brick.

If I understand correctly, the opamp follower (aka buffer) is there to avoid impedance mismatch between the power supply and the reverb circuit. The problem is that I don't really understand what those words mean ;).

What would happen if the buffer was not there? What is impedance mismatch in simple, small words?

Secondly, what are the three capacitors doing? Just filtering noise? And why is C3 a different value?

Thank you for any shoves towards understanding you can provide!

EBK

The voltage divider that gives you your reference voltage will really only give you V/2 if no current flows out of the middle of it.  Otherwise, the voltage will be less than V/2 or fluctuate as the load varies.  Sometimes, the fluctuation of this node can cause signals to undesirably bleed through to other parts of the circuit.  The buffer essentially stabilizes the V/2 voltage under a varying load, or keeps it from sagging under a heavier load. 

Someone will soon tell you either that it is not as simple as I described, or that it is simpler than I described.  They will also be correct.  :icon_razz:

Edit: I forgot to say welcome to the forum! Welcome!
  • SUPPORTER
Technical difficulties.  Please stand by.

erikor

Well I hope no one corrects you because this makes perfect sense to me!  :D

Thanks!

highwater

Quote from: erikor on November 30, 2019, 11:56:33 AM
Secondly, what are the three capacitors doing? Just filtering noise? And why is C3 a different value?