Fuzz Factory clone: short oscillation at zero drive

Started by zemauno, December 06, 2019, 12:37:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zemauno

Hi guys,
Epic respect for you all!
These is my first post, i'm a noob and i need tour help.
I've built two of these Fuzz Factory:
https://3.bp.blogspot.com/-4Px8WQV5YD4/UQ0I73d9oxI/AAAAAAAAEuw/Z9plaUkyW-c/s1600/ZVex+Fuzz+Factory+-+compact.png

They works fine but both have the same strange problem.
I get a short and strange oscillation with these setting:
Gate=0
Comp=0
Drive=0
Stab=0 (yes, stab is reverse).
Whit these setting i should have a soft fuzz, but when i hit hard low notes, i get a short of "filtering like" oscillation. These short oscillation disappear if i turn on stab a little or if i turn up drive. Please, help.

Thank you very much!
zemauno

BetterOffShred

Q2 and Q3 are germanium... What are the hfe and leakage of the devices you used?

zemauno

Q1 near 80hfe and Q2 near 120hfe.
I also try with other Ac128 and 2n3909 (silicon) with the same result.
I really font understand why i get these sort of static filtered oscillation only when i hit hard the low notes.

GibsonGM

A guess on the oscillation:  the circuit is near oscillation when at rest.  Your low note energy is just enough to push it over the edge for a moment, then it returns to a form of stability.  It may in fact BE oscillating at some super-audible frequency already and you just can't hear it.  An O-scope might show this. 

You may be able to dress the leads enough to make the osc. stop, or use some carefully-placed capacitance to swamp it...it is worth trying anyway.
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

zemauno

Thanky you very much, interesting answer.