Engineer's Thumb Redux vC.4 vero

Started by befey, December 31, 2019, 10:08:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

befey

I decided to attempt a vero layout of jonny.reckless 8 knob version of the Engineer's Thumb. I've started with just the voltage inverter section.

Full schematic:

The voltage inverter section:

My vero:

This is my first attempt at a vero layout from a schematic, so I'd like to use this thread to post my progress and get feedback about anything that doesn't look right.

I intend to modify the above full schematic slightly by adding a switch for the flat/bright switch. I'd also like to add a switched sidechain input. I think this means I'll need to duplicate the JFET input stage for the sidechain.

jonny.reckless

It's quite an ambitious circuit to do as your first vero project. It took me a lot of time and several attempts to build a vero prototype and get it to operate properly without oscillating or humming. I've still got a couple of issue C PCBs left in my project box and can send you one if you are interested, otherwise I'd be happy to share the Gerbers and NC drill files for you to make your own board. Not trying to discourage you, but be prepared for a lot of work  :)

Axldeziak

I'd be interested in the gerber and drill files if your willing to share.

befey

Quote from: jonny.reckless on January 02, 2020, 01:01:59 AM
It's quite an ambitious circuit to do as your first vero project. It took me a lot of time and several attempts to build a vero prototype and get it to operate properly without oscillating or humming.

Any tips?  ;)  Or a working layout to share?

Quote from: jonny.reckless on January 02, 2020, 01:01:59 AM
I've still got a couple of issue C PCBs left in my project box and can send you one if you are interested

That's really a kind offer, and I may wind up taking you up on it if this turns out to be beyond my ability. How hard would it be to add the mods I'm looking to do?