Led indicaror resistor in fuzz face

Started by DocBrown, February 11, 2020, 11:46:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DocBrown

Hello gentlemen.

My fuzz face sounds great after a few tweaks. I'm still a noob, but I've build my first sucessfull pedal and this is great. I plan to make a few improvement and first of all, add a led indicator.

I have a super bright 5mm aqua blue led that I plan to use, solder between the +9V on the PCB and the ground on the switch. I know I must add a resistor to avoid to blow the led, but what resistor value should I use ?

Thanks a lot !

italianguy63

I usually use a 2K2.  But, with a super-bright prolly a 4K7

MC
I used to really be with it!  That is, until they changed what "it" is.  Now, I can't find it.  And, I'm scared!  --  Homer Simpson's dad

intripped

Don't be afraid to increase the value, I've used also10k with superbright LEDs. They could be blinding in darkness.
best thing to do is trying different values on breadboard.

davent

I've gone all the way to 47k with 9v and a super bright. Breadboard a bunch of values with the led before soldering up the best value for your particular LED.
dave
"If you always do what you always did- you always get what you always got." - Unknown
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/photobucket-hotlink-fix/kegnjbncdcliihbemealioapbifiaedg

DocBrown

Thanks. I'll experiment but I'd like to know the minimum value to avoid blowing the led...

davent

You may find a super bright is bright enough running on 1mA (.001A)  or less, i think max rating is often around 20mA (?). The resistor will drop 6-7.2, 7.3v or so with a 9v source. Ohms law, V=IR says 350r would give you 20ma with a 7v drop across the resistor. 20mA & a super bright is blinding and probably the largest power usage in the pedal.

I've been away for awhile i think, i've got that right.
dave
"If you always do what you always did- you always get what you always got." - Unknown