Help with ABY Pedal w/ built-in Piezo Preamp

Started by tennisturkey, August 18, 2020, 11:27:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tennisturkey

Hello y'all, I hope this is the right place to post this.

I'm attempting to make an ABY box for my recording setup, but want to put a twist on it by adding a Piezo Preamp into the B channel to keep from having to pay $$$ for one to go inside my guitar since I'll likely be using it in my 335 style guitar or tele so space issues/not enough space.

If I was to do this, I can solder (Splice) the mini-Jack (2.5mm) straight to the 1/4 in female jack output and into the preamp or are the extra steps I'm missing?

Just for basic idea as I don't have a schematic or illustration atm. outside of basic soldering (i.e. guitar pots and such I'm pretty new to this type of stuff outside of basics from school I barely recall from 3 yr ago lol)

Tip       |--> A (magnetic) --> Mono Out --> amp
Stereo IN |
               Sleeve |--> B (Piezo) -2.5mm jack -> Preamp -> Mono Out from Preamp --> Mixer/PA

Thanks guys!
-Duncan

11-90-an

Hi and welcome to da forum... :icon_biggrin:

Are you still gonna add switches to this?

For your preamp, you could use this:

http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.com/2014/04/acoustic-piezo-preamp.html
flip flop flip flop flip

tennisturkey

Hey,
MY plan was to have a switch for A/B and a switch for Y (A+B)

I think have a schematic decently designed but to be sure, will this pedal work as AA (Mag) and BB (piezo) and Y (A+B) or will I need some sort of splitter? I had just been looking at that, but I think I'm going to just chop up a cheap amazon pre-amp for the sake of experimenting.

I feel like the way I have it drawn I'll have no BB signal just the tip switching between A and B. (if that makes sense)

tennisturkey

This is the schematic I roughly drew up, the more I look the more it's definitely missing the ring connection for the B, but not sure where to go with that

11-90-an