Author Topic: simple, newbie question about the FV1  (Read 244 times)

dschwartz

simple, newbie question about the FV1
« on: March 19, 2020, 06:24:19 PM »
Hi Folks!!

For my next project i need a stereo reverb with a simple MIX control and a single 4053 switch to turn it on or Off remotely..

The simplest solution for this looks like it's the FV1, using one of its built-in reverb programs.. But i'm not 100% sure if the included reverbs are 100% wet or they have the original signal through.  The controls are Reverb length, LPF and HPF, and i don't see a "MIX" control. 

That means that i should have to use an stereo pot to control mix on both channels simultaneously, and use 2 switches to kill the reverb...

One option would be to use program 0, make chorus rate and mix zero, and use a single pot to control the reverb mix via POT1..and would not even need a switch to mute the reverb , by feeding the pot with the control voltage and just switching to ground.. BUT..in that case, the signal will be always running through the FV1, with or without reverb? Or the reverb mix works as a volume level for the reverb?

I'm trying to avoid to use an eeprom here, as the space is very tight...

In short, my questions are:
- In programs 6 & 7 (reverbs) are they full wet? or 50% wet/dry by default?
- In these programs, what happens if reverb time is Zero?
- In program 0 (or 1 or 2) is the reverb full wet? ot is it mixed?
- If i leave the FV1 inline with the signal, is that too terrible?

any help and ideas are wholeheartedly appreciated.
PLease stay safe!!!!

----------------------------------------------------------
Tubes are overrated!!

http://dsmnoisemaker.blogspot.com

dschwartz

Re: simple, newbie question about the FV1
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2020, 10:45:06 AM »
I knew it was a stupid question.   :(
----------------------------------------------------------
Tubes are overrated!!

http://dsmnoisemaker.blogspot.com

Digital Larry

Re: simple, newbie question about the FV1
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2020, 11:36:28 AM »
It's not a stupid question, but the Spin forum is probably a better place for it.  As far as I recall, most/all of the stock programs are full wet.
Digital Larry
DSP tinkerer and former transistor twister

Ice-9

Re: simple, newbie question about the FV1
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2020, 06:30:07 AM »
All the internal reverb programs are full wet so a dry signal will need to be mixed. Setting the reverb time to '0' will give the shortest initial reverb size that is coded it will not give 'No' reverb. No issues with leaving the FV-1 inline with the signal and depending on how you wish to do your bypass system the FV-1 may need to always be inline, for example if you are just going to mute the FV-1 output with an opto for bypass but I think it is better to mute the input to the FV-1 as in the case of a delay and you have feedback high and it is self oscillating you won't know until switch the effect on and your amp get hit with all that noise.

Sorry I forgot you said remote switching from 4053,
www.stanleyfx.co.uk

It's fairly straight forward, if you want to start it , press start. You can work out the rest of the controls for yourself !

dschwartz

Re: simple, newbie question about the FV1
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2020, 09:18:34 PM »
Great news that they are all wet...

That gives me two approaches..both using a parallel clean signal:
1- use program 0 (chorus+reverb) and leave chorus mix and rate at 0.. with a single pot i can control the reverb mix for both channels at the same time (assuming the reverb is stereo), and can remotely switch it off by grounding the pot wiper directly from the footswitch.

2- use program 7 or 8, set revTime, HPF and LPF via fixed resistors...use a jfet as VCR for each input, both controlled by a single pot for reverb mix..remote switch disconnects the pot ground leg so the jfets are open.

Sounds good?
----------------------------------------------------------
Tubes are overrated!!

http://dsmnoisemaker.blogspot.com

Ice-9

Re: simple, newbie question about the FV1
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2020, 11:45:45 AM »
Both options sound correct, worth noting as well is that one pot can be used on ALL the pot controls if needed but that would mean all parameters are tied.
www.stanleyfx.co.uk

It's fairly straight forward, if you want to start it , press start. You can work out the rest of the controls for yourself !

dschwartz

Re: simple, newbie question about the FV1
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2020, 05:30:48 PM »
Thanks!!!!
----------------------------------------------------------
Tubes are overrated!!

http://dsmnoisemaker.blogspot.com