EH Pulsar schematic error?

Started by spoontex, March 28, 2020, 08:30:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

spoontex

Hello,

My first pedal that I build a few years ago, was the EH Pulsar. But, everybody knows that this pedal have some issues.

The first one is the famous tick, when the pedal is bypassed. I solved this issue putting a buffer in front of it ( Boss pedal ), and the tick disappear.  So, I redraw the schematic and add a buffer in front of the effect, taking advantage of the dual opamp tl062. But this way didn't work. I don't know way.

Anybody can help it the buffer?

And the second issue, is that when the pedal is on. It isn't very clean... tick again ( like a heartbreath ).

Trying differents transistors, unintentionally reversed the Q1 transistor... and suddenly the heartbeat is more more attenuated. I'm not an electronics expert. Someone can explain this?

Thanks.

P.D.: I know, they are other tremolo pedals... but this is my first build when I was young... jaja

https://i.ibb.co/cb8R1X5/pulsa2.png

j_flanders

QuoteRe: EH Pulsar schematic error?
This is the schematic I have.
The differences I see are:
* R2 is 47k instead of 27k
* Depth pot is 100k instead of 1M
* Some caps are specifically stated to be tantalium.
* different transistors, 2N5088 (one 2N5089?) instead 2N3904

Quote from: spoontex on March 28, 2020, 08:30:27 AM
The first one is the famous tick, when the pedal is bypassed. I solved this issue putting a buffer in front of it ( Boss pedal ), and the tick disappear.  So, I redraw the schematic and add a buffer in front of the effect, taking advantage of the dual opamp tl062. But this way didn't work. I don't know way.

Anybody can help it the buffer?
With the Boss buffer/pedal before the Pulsar, when you bypass the Pulsar, the Boss buffer is still on.
With the buffer inside the Pulsar, when you bypass the Pulsar, you also bypass the buffer.