Author Topic: Absolute beginner true bypass loop help!  (Read 791 times)

dylanburrett

Absolute beginner true bypass loop help!
« on: April 13, 2020, 04:41:26 PM »
Hi all, I am a musician turned tinkerer and I have just bought my first true bypass looper kit off amazon. Of course there are no instructions and the chinese company has no website or anything, I've found several useful diagrams but can't seem to figure out a couple embarrassingly simple things. First off for a 3pdt switch, there is a number 8 assigned to one of the switches. I can't seem to figure out how to determine exactly what the other 8 numbers are on the switch. Secondly, it came with these 1/4" jacks and I can't figure out which one is the Tip, ring or sleeve. If there is a way to figure that out using a voltmeter, that would be incredible. Thanks!

bluebunny

Re: Absolute beginner true bypass loop help!
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2020, 04:09:08 AM »
Welcome to the forum.

Can you post a link to this kit?  Can you also post the diagrams that you have found?  Pin 8 could be absolutely anywhere on that switch: there's no hard and fast standard (there are several soft and slow - that's the problem!).

To work out the pins on that jack, plug in a stereo lead and check for continuity between tip, ring and screen for each of those three terminals (though it's clear that the one at the front is the screen).
  • SUPPORTER
Ohm's Law - much like Coles Law, but with less cabbage...

deadastronaut

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2020, 05:06:17 AM »
hi, welcome, i wouldn't get hung up on the 'pin 8'  its a standard 3pdt.

when wiring the the 3pdt switch the solder lugs need to be ''horizontal'' not vertical. (which im sure youve seen on various diagrams)

i bought one of these ''dual'' looper kits...as it was actually cheaper to buy it than build from scratch...its a handy tool.