Computer engineering and DSP

Started by barkbomes9, May 03, 2020, 05:36:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

barkbomes9

I'm currently a computer engineer, but I'm very interested in learning more about digital signal processing (DSP). I'm currently interested in taking a graduate course in DSP and in estimation theory, but I know that most DSP engineers are traditionally electrical engineers. Currently, I'm trying to pursue a specialization in FPGA's and embedded systems. There is also a class in neural networks and IoT that interests me. I would like to know what people's experience with DSP is in industry and if they recommend that I pursue it.

Digital Larry

I'd recommend that you pursue things that interest you, especially if it seems like there's an industry around them so you can make a living.  I studied EE and the last year of that was heavy with DSP.  But I never really did much with DSP in my legit career.  Opportunities and fate (?) took it in other directions - more microprocessors, board level engineering.  Ultimately I got bored of that and went into project management, tilting more towards software than hardware.

I've been getting back into DSP purely as a hobby for about 10 years now.  I mostly like it because it does not usually require soldering.

DL
Digital Larry
Want to quickly design your own effects patches for the Spin FV-1 DSP chip?
https://github.com/HolyCityAudio/SpinCAD-Designer

Blackaddr

Quote from: barkbomes9 on May 03, 2020, 05:36:25 AM