MXR Distortion + Schematic questions

Started by o_gold, May 19, 2020, 06:54:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

o_gold

Hello,

I'm new to guitar pedal (and electronics in general). I've got a question regarding the MXR Distortion plus schematic: http://create-electro.blogspot.com/2010/05/mxr-distortion-plus-schematic-diagram.html.

In this schematic I see there is an adapter input but also a battery sign. How does it works? when I connect the pin of the power jack to the input (AC Adapter) it disconnecting the battery from the circuit ?

I see very clearly the +v of the circuit but I cannot understand the gnd connection in this schematic. it seems that the gnd (-) of the battery is connected to the sleeve of the input jack?  how is connected to all the ground in the circuit?

What is the Earth sign you see in all three jacks (In, Out, adapter) ? should I connect it to my battery ground? (is there any difference ?)

Thanks for any help!

GibsonGM

Yes, in real life, plugging in a power adapter will disconnect the battery.  It is a "switching jack".     

The effect is off until you plug your guitar cable in, and then the sleeve of the plug grounds the battery (or adapter), turning the effect on.   Yes, the power is grounded the same way your AC guitar signal is  :)   No, there is no difference in the way most effects are set up.  One ground point, essentially.

There is much info HERE  http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/how-to-build-it/technical-help/switching-and-wiring/bypass-sw-options/,  primarily under true bypass options and 3PDT, which are the norm to use today.   Look as this stuff, see if you have any questions about it, and let us know if it doesn't clear some of this up!

Hope that helps! Welcome to the forum!
  • SUPPORTER