Neutron (Mutron iii clone) variable power options for dying battery effect

Started by MatthewD, July 25, 2020, 04:44:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MatthewD

Hi, I am still a beginner in the electronics world so I would appreciate some help understanding power options for the Neutron Envelope Filter pedal, which I intend to build as my next project. To be clear, what I am about to propose is the first time I have ever tried to "design" part of a circuit myself.

I am interested in experimenting which the Neutron Filter (Mutron iii clone) using low voltage. As some of you may know there has been a rumor on the net for, well... decades regarding low voltage and the Mutron. So I would like to run a test or experiment to check it out.

I have a MXR ISO Brick power supply which has an 18v outlet that is currently unused that I am itching to make use of.

Here is my first attempt at solving the problem, frankly I don't think this will work. I know with two batteries you can create negative voltage by connecting them in series, but will this work the way I have drawn it below where the +18v input is simply split? I am guessing it probably isn't this simple at all.

So I am hoping someone with more experience with electronics can give me some advice...
Perhaps there is there a better way? I am basically happy with most of the circuit... its just getting the negative voltage at the start that is problematic.

Option 2
I am also considering using a LTC3260 Inverting Charge Pump, this is limited to 50mA per output (so 100mA total)... I am not sure if this is enough for this pedal?
https://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/data-sheets/3260fa.pdf

Option 2a
Another inverter option called the ICL7662, also not sure it this will output the required milliamps.
https://datasheets.maximintegrated.com/en/ds/ICL7662-Si7661.pdf

Option 3