Help with Tonebender MKI Oscillation/Howling

Started by middleburyad, July 28, 2020, 03:56:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

middleburyad

Hey everyone! First post, hope it goes alright! I've been building properly for about three years and have been getting more and more into doing the "mojo" builds; they're just a ton of fun and pleasantly ingredient dependent.

I'm working on a Tonebender MKI for myself and ran into a funny problem when I get it boxed up. On the breadboard, it sounds ace! I got some transistors from Small Bear that really kick ass, and proved reliable when breadboarded. However, when I put my vero build into an enclosure with a 9V DC jack (I didn't leave space for a battery, since I personally typically just use an isolated power supply), I got this howling/oscillation not dissimilar to the howl of some silicon Fuzz Faces, that encroaches on the end of notes on some attack settings and remains persistent on others.  I've been trying different things to filter this out without luck, whether it's decoupling with a 100uf cap between negative 9V and positive ground, or using a limiting resistor in tandem with this.

Is this just an issue of sloppy vero work/criss-crossed wires in a small enclosure? (truthfully, I built up the board over some sleepy nights, so it wasn't an A+ job underneath, but I always go through and make sure to clean up my joints). Is it an issue of using a 9V DC jack instead of a battery? I only wonder about this being the issue because I've built Buzzarounds, Rangemasters, etc. running off of an adapter with no issues, even without decoupling, honestly.

In case of common questions:
Q1 is a CV5712 with an hfe of ~50, unfortunately unsure on leakage, though I assume fairly leaky cause it lets a generous amount through (compared to the low leakage OC45 I have laying around which prematurely gates the whole thing)
Q2 is some GE device with hfe of 114 and leakage 75
Q3 is a OC75 with hfe of 84 and leakage 338