Cannot replace Boss-type stomp switch with a 3PDT?

Started by Psychophonic, August 01, 2020, 01:37:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Psychophonic

I am still learning about mods and such. I do try to google and read before posting my questions here. If I understand my googler correctly, I cannot simply replace a Boss-type stomp switch with a typical 3PDT switch. Am I correct?

I have a Boss SD-1 knockoff in a plastic housing. My plan is to attempt a few of the SD-1 mods, and re-house the guts into a metal housing. I  would like to move/wire/replace the jacks and stomp switch away from the pcb. I am not trying to make this a true bypass unit. I just want to use a standard 3PDT switch when I make the move.

I seem to recall, but cannot find, a similar thread where someone suggested adding a remote 3PDT switch/enclosure and wiring it to 2 points on the original switch/pcb. Will this work? Would you need to make sure the original onboard switch is always "on" in order for the remote switch to work properly?

bluebunny

Quote from: Psychophonic on August 01, 2020, 01:37:30 PM
I cannot simply replace a Boss-type stomp switch with a typical 3PDT switch. Am I correct?

Yes, more or less.

There's a pair of JFETs in the Boss circuit that control what gets through to the output: either the effected signal or the dry signal.  The Boss switching turns either one of these on or off (and its counterpart off or on).  Read "The Technology of Boss/Ibanez bypassing" at Geofex for details.

So, with this in mind, you need to remove the JFET that would switch the dry signal.  And you need to jumper (drain and source) the JFET that would pass the effected signal.  This makes the original circuit "always on".  Then you can wrap the whole thing in a common-or-garden 3PDT switch circuit.  Note that this switches out the whole circuit (aka "true bypass").  It you want to keep the Boss buffering, then it's a little more involved.
  • SUPPORTER