Switching between PNP Germanium Transistors in the same pedal

Started by Bluto-61, November 23, 2020, 06:12:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bluto-61

Hi,

Thanks for letting me into the group :) I've been working on and building tube amps for many years but I have shy'd away from pedals due to a lack of understanding and working knowledge of transistors, chips, op amps etc....  I'm going to build my first non-tube pedal doggonnit!

The question I have for this forum is a simple one I'm sure, but oblivious to me.  If I want to switch between 2 different PNP transistors (oc-44 and oc-71) what is the most elegant way of switching from one to the other? in other words, if both PNP's are wired in parallel, how do I turn one off while simultaneously turning the other on without causing a pop or some other unexpected issue?

I know for a tube triode (most similar devise I can think of) you would simply either 1) detach the cathode from ground, 2) detach the signal from the grid or, 3) cut voltage to the anode, in that order of preference due to common quirks that might arise by switching off the anode voltage or cutting the signal mili-voltage.   all other contacts could remain in parallel between the 2 triodes if one connection is switched from one triode to another without terribly negative affects,  the current would stop flowing in one triode and begin flowing in the next.  there may be a "pop" heard by switching anode or grid voltages but that can be corrected by the proper resistor or capacitor to ground.

it seems to me that switching off one base of 2 parallel connected PNP's while switching the other base on would achieve a fairly transparent selection between the oc-44 and oc-71 but I really don't KNOW... ya know?

Any Thoughts?

Bluto-61

PRR

Welcome!

Getting ahead of yourself. Build a pedal. Don't complicate. Multiple transistor switching is NOT a common thing.
  • SUPPORTER

iainpunk