GGG ITS8 help

Started by Phoenix60, November 17, 2020, 04:48:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phoenix60

This is my first build,  a tube Screamer clone from General Guitar Gadgets.  I got some help earlier in a different thread, but now I have a different question so I hope its ok to start a new thread.  I've gone with the diode lift option, so i have an on off on switch that is supposed to switch between the silicon clipping and led clipping,  and provide a "clean" boost in the off position.   I believe I'm getting clipping in the silicone diodes, they sound clipped, and lower in volume than the other switch positions.   However, I don't hear any difference between the off position and what I think is the  led clipping position.

My question is, is  this normal?  If not, how should I proceed?   From what I've read, I know
I shouldn't expect a clean signal in the boost position.   

Not sure if this is related, but when I turn the tone pot all the way down I also lose all volume.

Thanks for your help.

EBK

Since I'm in the middle of rebuilding one of these, I'll try to help.  The output corresponding to the center switch position (open loop) should be much louder than the LED clipping. If they are the same loudness, then your LEDs may not be working.  Could you post some pics of your build?

It is also possible, that you aren't driving the LED clipping hard enough, which could mean you have an incorrect resistor somewhere.

Edit: I see your pics in the other thread.
  • SUPPORTER
Technical difficulties.  Please stand by.

Phoenix60

Thanks.   One of the on positions sounds well clipped, and at a lower volume.  I thought that was the led.  The off position and other on position sound exactly the same to me., and both louder than the led.  Shouldn't there be a difference in sound between the silicone diode clipping and no clipping?

Thanks

EBK

The silicon clipping should be the quietest setting.