Newbie messing with a Tube Screamer overdrive circuit

Started by ExCx, January 10, 2021, 08:20:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ExCx

Hi there.

I'm a newbie trying to understand and modify a simplified clone of Tube Screamer.

Although I had assembled an amp and a fuzz pedal successfully before, I was just blindly following the schematics. Now I want to learn about the inner workings and hopefuly design my own. I'm just a hobbyist with no electrical background but I do know some theory on a simple level and I did some reading on building analogue circuitry. Still, I'm way behind in practice and have LOTS of questions about this simple project. I'll highlight the parts for each question I have, so you can follow me better here.

1- I understood that this resistor is setting the input impedance for the circuit. From what I read, it's always better to make this as high as possible. I also stumbled upon a pedal maker bragging about his designs and why he puts a 10M input resistor instead of 1M so the signal loss is minimal. So I also changed this to 10M and I *think* I heard some subtle difference though I'm not really sure. What I want to ask is, if this is the right way, why don't every pedal in existence have a 10M (or higher?) input resistor to transmit pickup signal as good as possible? Is there a catch here, like over-sensitivity?