feeding opamp out straight back into negative input?

Started by 11-90-an, February 07, 2021, 08:21:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

11-90-an

Well I'm analyzing my amp right now, as I have found a sound I would like to reproduce in a pedal, but that's not much of the topic now...

In the amp schematic I found this,

and it feeds the output into the negative input without any resistance whatsoever?

I think I'm missing something... any ideas?

P.S. here's the full schematic...

EDIT:
Well while researching I found this website... https://wiki.analog.com/university/courses/electronics/text/chapter-4
See example 4.7... capacitance multiplier? I think the application in my amp is just some sort of fixed all-pass filter just to use an extra opamp...

As you all probably know (and can see from my reactions :icon_lol:) this is my first time seeing this topology... it *is* quite unusual for me to see this kind of feedback loop, as (from my reasoning) the signal would get cancelled out... any help for my remaining 3 braincells would be greatly appreciated...  :P
flip flop flip flop flip

anotherjim

It is common. It gives unity gain (pass signal at x1) because you have signal on the +input and this always gets to the output with x1 gain.
The simplest opamp circuit does it...

In your example, the feedback does two jobs. Setting gain at unity while sending an inverted phase "cancellation" signal back to the input.
If you draw it differently. One wire connected output to -input only and then another wire from output to C11. It's the same, but you can see the two functions.

Rob Strand

QuoteI think the application in my amp is just some sort of fixed all-pass filter just to use an extra opamp...
It's a Sallen and Key low-pass filter,

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sallen%E2%80%93Key_topology

In your case,  f0 = 5kHz and Q = 1.6.   Q=1.6 means there's a peak in the response,