Help needed with Rat clone - JFET not passing signal

Started by Catacomber, February 22, 2021, 04:08:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Catacomber

Hello,

I'm new to the forum and relatively new to the world of building stompboxes, but I think I am seriously hooked on it.  Built my first one from an Amazon kit about a year ago and now I've got a bench set up with a reasonable set of supplies and I'm working from manufactured PCBs. 

I have a EE degree from 1986 and have always wanted to get my hands dirtier with analog electronics after a long career in software engineering.  Between what I never learned and what I have forgotten in 35 years, I will be the first to admit that I'm not an expert in small-signal analog electronics.

After successfully building a Distortion + (yeah, I know that's the easiest one) I am working on Rat using "La Rata" from Tonepad.  As near as I can tell it's identical to the original schematic.

Using a homemade audio probe and a small guitar amp, I have determined that I'm getting signal past the op amp and to the gate of the JFET.  The distortion knob seems to smash the signal nicely, and that signal is about the same whether measured on pin 6 of the LM308 or at the gate of the JFET.  I have 9V on the source, and I would expect the drain to have my signal on it.  But interestingly when I probe that I get nothing at all, not even the noise that is present when I probe ground.  Yet with the JFET out of the circuit, I measure the correct 10K ohms to ground.

I tried a second 2N5458 to see if it was a bad component, but the result is the same, so unless they are both bad I must have an error somewhere.

I did notice that the Rat clone on generalguitargadgets.com has a JFET bias circuit added and from a bit of reading I understand (and somehow seem to remember from my lab days) that JFET biasing can be touchy.

Does anyone know what kind of DC voltage I should be seeing at the drain of the JFET?  Any other helpful hints?