Debugging Brutalist Jr. pedal - No Signal when on

Started by dnox, March 05, 2021, 05:18:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dnox

Hi everyone. I am a noob to the world of pedal building but it's something I've really enjoyed, from soldering components to designing the enclosure graphics. I completed my first build, a Brutalist Jr. from God City Instruments. I followed the detailed instructions on the site and put it together from a kit. No mods or substitutes that I am aware of. Got everything wired up and ready to go, pretty confident in my soldering and wiring (i know, I know  ;)), and it didn't work. The signal is there in bypass, but when I engage the effect the LED lights up but the signal is gone completely. Nothing.

So I reflowed all my joints, checked the wiring, and did a general visual inspection. I checked the switch and pots and I believe they are working based on measuring with a multimeter. Did connectivity tests to the best of my knowledge. Still Nothing.

So know I've taken IC and Diode measurements and I'm hoping someone can help me understand what they mean. Here are the measurements:

Battery Voltage = 8.80V

D1
A = 3.82
K = 4.03

D2
A = 4.02
K = 3.82

IC1
P1 = 4.25
P2 = .43
P3 = 0
P4 = 0
P5 = .4
P6 = 4.13
P7 = 4.25
P8 = 8.47

IC2
P1 = 4.25
P2 = 4.25
P3 = .2
P4 = 0
P5 = .4
P6 = .02
P7 = 4.25
P8 = 8.43

https://www.godcityinstruments.com/collections/diy-pcbs/products/brutalist-jr-distortion

Thank you so much in advance!
-Mike D.

antonis

Hi & Welcome..  :icon_wink:

First of all, check VA voltage..
It should be about: (your supply voltage minus 250-300mV) / 2

Start by checking R18 value (10R instead of 10k, perhaps..)
If both R17 & R18 are of the same value, check C16 for some kind of short..
(desolder and lift one cap leg..)

P.S.
R17 (the one hidden by C14 box cap) lower leg & pad seems like cold joint..
(in such a case, R17 10k value is reflected as a much higher one..)