Foxx Tone Machine Help - General Guitar Gadgets

Started by Need More Pedals, March 07, 2021, 12:23:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Need More Pedals

Hi Everybody.  I'm so happy to be here.  I am a noob to building pedals and forums.  I have a Foxx Tone Machine Replica from GGG that I am building for a good friend.

Here are the Build Documents:

Schematic
http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_ftm_sc.pdf

Wiring and Layout
http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_ftm_lo_2fsw.pdf

Web page.
http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/effects-projects/octave/foxx-tone-machine/

This is my 4th build.  I have built BYOC Classic Fuzz, BYOC Large Beaver Ram's Head, and www.diyguitarpedals.com.au/ One Knob Fuzz.  I confess, the FTM may be a little out of my build level.  I feel confident in the PCB population.  I did have minor outboard wiring issues with all three previous builds, but they were easy fixes. I Multi Meter the resistors and triple check before soldering.  I have not learned how to test anything else.  I am disabled and needed a good hobby to stay engaged, so I take my time and concentrate as best I can.  It's something I am passionate about.  I did box it before testing as I am still learning that step as well.  I have used alligator clips to debug the One Knob Fuzz wiring issue.  I don't really have the level of skill to debug this.  I am ready to do anything to get this finished and to my friend.  I have stared at it for a week, checking wiring and pcb many times, to no avail.  Overall, I feel rather confident in the build, wiring excluded, and I think the issues are minor.  If I could get help with any "easy" fix, I can get back to Beginner projects where I belong.  btw, I'm hooked, I love building pedals! 

There were no parts substitutions.  This did come as a kit. 

I don't know anything about positive or negative ground.  I would assume it is Negative ground.

What it's doing: