Any tips for using transformers in Fuzz effects?

Started by GuitarMatt, March 26, 2021, 11:18:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GuitarMatt

I'm still relatively new to pedal building, so feel free to school me  ;)

I've built several germanium fuzz faces and tonebenders, but I haven't implemented any transformers yet.

I'm very interested in their implementation for octave up and compression effects (Hudson Broadcast and Octavia, etc.)

Any good general-purpose units from Small Bear or similar site?

Any comments welcome! Thank you  :)

Electron Tornado

• SUPPORTER
"Corn meal, gun powder, ham hocks, and guitar strings"

Who is John Galt?

anotherjim

The Broadcast pedals claim to produce saturation in the transformer is contentious. In audio coupling use, the effect on the frequency response is one of the audio transformers most telling qualities. They can make fizzy distortion sound more musical and we could maybe use them more.

Octavers are certainly good with a transformer.

Marcos - Munky

Since you're into ge fuzzes, I think a transformer octave is something very interesting to give it a try. I built two of them and I was very pleased with the results.

That said, you basically need a gain stage to amplify the signal, a transformer to step up the signal even more, and a couple of diodes to complete the frequency doubler. So you basically have a big AC signal hitting a transformer, which makes it even bigger. The diodes rectify the signal allowing only the positive part of it to pass. The signal that passes thru each diode will add up their frequencies, doubling it, then you'll have an octave up.

On the gain stage, you can use a transistor gain stage (like Tychobrahe Octave), a opamp gain stage (like Gus Simple Octave Up and Scott Swartz's Screamer Octave) or a 386 (can't really remember where I saw it, I know I tried it once and liked the result).