Aion Effects "Cerulean" (Bluesbreaker Clone) Won't Work

Started by GoodGuitarist, April 14, 2021, 12:22:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GoodGuitarist

UPDATE:

I used a battery instead of DC. I also played with the settings on my multimeter... there's a (good) chance I wasn't measuring properly, as I'm still fairly new to the troubleshooting side of things.

New voltages:

Battery: 9.02

IC1

Q1 - not sure about the orientation, but imagine top-down view, it looks like a capital D. Pin 1 would be the top (hope that's correct).

Hi,

I recently built a Cerulean by Aion Effects, from a kit. It kind of works but sounds like a wonky fuzz pedal (sputtery, as if the bias knob was turned all the way down on my Keeley Fuzzbender)

• The LED lights up
  • The knobs all do something (volume is really quiet until the last 10%, tone definitely adjusts the tone, gain adds gain)
  • The clipping switches don't really feel like they're affecting the sound much, but that might be because the whole thing is sounding pretty crazy

...but it definitely doesn't sound like a Bluesbreaker.

I've attached photos of the circuit board. Please excuse the flux, I didn't bother cleaning it yet since I might have to get back to work on it soon.

I measured the voltages on IC1 and Q1.

IC1

• cycles between 3 exact voltages: 0.00, 51.2, 5.74

Q1

I used a working PSU (one that came with a strymon pedal, that I've tested with my OD-3 to confirm).

Please see attached images, and thank you for any help... It's a real downer when a pedal doesn't work so I'm really looking forward to getting to the bottom of this. Thanks!

idy

Welcome to the forum!

What voltage is the power supply putting out? (measure it plugged into the wall, but not into the effect.) Sure its not AC?