Pedal sales business models

Started by Vivek, April 24, 2021, 08:34:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Vivek

We are like 5 months away from completing our project which was inspired by a great engineer / musician who had a band named after one of USA's larger cities, beginning with "B"

One of the stages we reached till now is an SMD board that has the Compressor, Distortion, Cab Sim and filter (all modules inside the red box) all tried and tested and sounds great !!

Chorus module is also tested and done, but we did not add that to the SMD board.

We decided to see if we can begin monetising this stage, so that we have some funds and encouragement to complete the rest

Since this is my first time to contemplate slightly bigger runs (I only made pedals in onesies and twosies so far), I request your input on the following possible intermediate business models for the SMD, (short of standard business model of us making the complete pedal and selling it)

A) We sell the SMD board, the DIYer adds pots, jacks, enclosure, power, knobs etc

and or

B1) We find "Authorised Assemblers" who buy minimum X units of the SMD at a time and get a discount, they make the final product, test it and resell it

B2) Or, we sell it but "Authorised Assemblers" assembles and ships it.

C) Other ideas please

Thank you !

Bunkey

Personally I would hang tight and wait until the full thing was finished, else you risk diluting interest in the project (both your own and other people's).

It comes across a little cold if you've the attitude of 'Well here's part of a bigger project that we've been working on and we think is going to make us money; we're going to shift X-number of units and treat this as purely business and then sometime later we might finish the project we started with'.