Tips for Smallbear fuzz face project?

Started by WoundUp, April 30, 2021, 05:05:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WoundUp

What's up everybody! I just bought a breadboard kit with the intention of getting into building pedals & pedal circuits. I intend to start off with this fuzz face at smallbear

http://diy.smallbearelec.com/HowTos/BreadboardSiFF/BreadboardSiFF.htm

Any tips or tricks or things to look out for when I attempt this? I'm still waiting on parts to get here so it'll be a few days before I'm able to start on it. It seems pretty straightforward, but I figured I would ask anyway. Being that I'm new to this, I could easily miss something important since I'm not familiar with everything yet.

Thanks!

Phend

WoundUp, welcome to the forum. Great choice, because of the great people here. I myself am a beginner in making effects. Looks like you selected a good starting project from a well known company. My suggestion would be to get a multimeter and follow the directions for building the fuzz face.
And biggest suggestion would be, if you get stuck or have a question, this forum well definitely help you.
  • SUPPORTER+
When the DIY gets Weird, the Weird turn Pro.

iainpunk

digital multi meter is your best friend when it comes to electronics! make sure to get one if you haven't already, having the cheap-o ones from ebay/poundland/dollarstore is better than having no multi meter. (i have been at it with a 9 euro digital multi meter for 6 or 7 years now, if you stick to pedal building or similar complexity, the simple ones are fine)

the instruction on the website are quite compressive, and you should be able to get a working Fuzz out of that. the circuit is simple enough that there's little that would go wrong, the most common mistake people seem to have with fuzz faces seems to be forgetting to actually attach the gain pot to either ground or the circuit.

always glad to hear someone picking up electronics! welcome to the addiction hobby!

cheers