Onerr Tungsten Drivemaster TO-3 burnt resistor replacement

Started by Iffy Jiffy, May 05, 2021, 01:06:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Iffy Jiffy

Hi everyone, I got a TO-3 Onerr Drivemaster pedal at a garage sale and it has a burnt resistor which I cannot identify. I removed it and would like to replace it and see where I go from there as there may be other components that got damaged. This resistor was directly connected to the external power jack and D1. I removed and tested the diode and it appears normal. I can only suspect that an incorrect ac adapter was used that caused the resistor to burn. Only the outermost color bands on the resistor were visible, the red and the gold 5% tolerance band. The band next to red was burnt and did appear to be brown but that may have been caused by the heat  so I cannot be sure. Searches online for a schematic or a photo of the internals were unsuccessful. This brand was made in Brazil and does not appear to be operating any longer. Is there any way for me to determine what would be a suitable resistor or is there a standard value resistor connected to the power source used in most pedals. The pedal can be powered with a 9 volt battery or by an external power source. The resistor gave no reading when tested from each end as well as from either end to the center of the body where I sanded to make contact. Hopefully someone can offer some suggestions regarding this problem.

PRR

I would try 100 Ohms.

That does not match "red" but is probably safe. If there is a large voltage drop, the original might be 2? Ohms; if a small drop the original may be 2?0 Ohms. 22, 27, not much difference.
  • SUPPORTER

Rob Strand

You might want to look at the tracing of the Onerr Tungsten Overdrive TO-1 on "the other" forum.